image
image

image


image Die European ME Alliance fordert ein europaweites Blutspendeverbot für ME/CFS-Patienten

Dezember 2010


 

European ME Alliance – Pressemitteilung

 

Zur sofortigen Veröffentlichung:

 

Die European ME Alliance fordert ein europaweites Blutspendeverbot für ME/CFS-Patienten

 

European ME Alliance, Sønder Alle 5, st 3, 9500 Hobro, Denmark

 

Email:  info@euro-me.org

 

Freitag, 10. Dezember 2010 15:03 European ME Alliance (EMEA)

 

Gesundheitsrisiko für Millionen Bürger in Europa durch Kontamination der Blutbanken

Die European ME Alliance (EMEA) fordert die Gesundheitsminister der europäischen Länder auf, ein sofortiges, europaweites Verbot von Blutspenden durch Menschen mit der Diagnose Myalgische Enzephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS) zu veranlassen.

Diese Forderung schließt sich an die Entscheidung der britischen Regierung an, ein permanentes, lebenslang andauerndes Blutspendeverbot für alle ME/CFS-Patienten (einschließlich derer, die sich „erholt“ haben) zu erlassen. Die EMEA hat außerdem den Europäischen Kommissar für Gesundheit und Verbraucherschutz direkt angeschrieben und ihn dringend gebeten, ein solches Verbot in Kraft zu setzen.

Das britische Blutspendeverbot folgte auf entsprechende Maßnahmen Kanadas, Australiens und Neuseelands. In den USA hat die American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) seinen Mitgliedsorganisationen angeraten, mögliche Spender mit der Diagnose ME/CFS aktiv davon abzuhalten, Blut oder Blutbestandteile zu spenden, und das US-amerikanische Rote Kreuz hat diese Empfehlungen der AABB nicht nur in die Tat umgesetzt, sondern ist noch weiter gegangen und hat für Menschen mit der Diagnose ME/CFS in der Krankengeschichte ein Blutspendeverbot auf unbestimmte Zeit angeordnet.

In Europa haben Maltas nationale Bluttransfusionsdienste Menschen mit ME/CFS auf Dauer von Blutspenden ausgeschlossen, und das belgische Rote Kreuz lehnt schon eine Weile ME/CFS-Patienten als Blutspender ab.

Die EMEA ist der Überzeugung, dass ein solches Verbot nicht nur sinnvoll, sondern notwendig ist, und dass dringend Maßnahmen ergriffen werden müssen, bis weitere Forschungsarbeiten durchgeführt worden sind. Geschieht dies nicht, besteht ein großes Risiko für die Sicherheit der Blutvorräte und damit für die Gesundheit der Bürger Europas.

Der Grund für ein Blutspendeverbot durch Patienten mit der Diagnose ME/CFS ist aus Sicht der EMEA die klare Konsequenz aus der biomedizinischen Forschung, nach der es ein möglicherweise infektiöses Virus bei diesen Patienten gibt, das durch Blut übertragen werden kann.

Seit der Veröffentlichung der Forschungsergebnisse des Whittemore Peterson Institutes, des National Cancer Institutes und der Cleveland Clinic im Wissenschaftsmagazin Science im Oktober 2009 über den möglichen Zusammenhang zwischen ME/CFS und einem Gamma-Retrovirus, dem sogenannten xenotropic murine leukemia virus-related  virus (XMRV), arbeiten andere Forschergruppen mit Nachdruck an einer Replikation und Bestätigung dieser Studien.

Die EMEA hat zudem vorgeschlagen, dass die Gesundheitsminister der europäischen Länder im Mai 2011 anlässlich der 6. International Invest in ME International ME/CFS Biomedical Research Conference zusammenkommen, um die führenden Experten auf dem Gebiet zu treffen und sich die  neueste biomedizinische Forschung zum ME/CFS sowie die Erfahrungen mit der Diagnose und Behandlung dieser Krankheit anzuhören.

Die European ME Alliance ist der Meinung, dass der Ernst der Lage und das Risiko für die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit ein sofortiges Blutspendeverbot für ME/CFS-Patienten rechtfertigen, um eine weitere Übertragung und Infektion zu verhindern.

The European ME Alliance

www.euro-me.org



www.europeanmealliance.org

 

Belgium

ME/CFS Association (Nieuwrode, Belgium)

Denmark Dansk ME Forening
Ireland    Irish ME Trust
Germany 

Fatigatio e.V.

Norway  Norges ME-forening
Spain Liga SFC
Sweden   Riksföreningen för ME-patienter
Switzerland   Verein CFS Schweiz
UK 

Invest in ME

 

 

 

Siehe dieser Pressemitteilung in anderen Sprachen

Dänisch
Coming shortly
Deutsch
Norwegisch

 

 

Weitere Links:

Documented involvement of Viruses in ME/CFS - click here


 

 

Last Update: 15 December 2010




image

image
image

image


imageEuropean ME Alliance
Press Release December 2010

December 2010


The European ME Alliance has issued the following press release calling for an immediate Europe-wide prohibition from donation of blood by people who have been diagnosed with ME/CFS

We invite all European support groups, patients, carers, healthcare staff and others who wish to see progress support us in this initiative. Please write to your health minister or Chief Medical Officers, quoting this press release, and ask them to support our request and attend the London meeting and the conference.

The EMEA letter is as follows -

 

European ME Alliance – Press Release

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

European Ban on Blood Donation from ME/CFS Patients Demanded by European ME Alliance

 

European ME Alliance, Sønder Alle 5, st 3, 9500 Hobro, Denmark

 

Email:  info@euro-me.org

 

4th December 2010

 

Contamination Risk to Health of Millions of European Citizens

 

The European ME Alliance (EMEA) is calling on Europe’s health ministers to initiate an immediate Europe-wide prohibition of blood donation from people who have been diagnosed with myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME/CFS).

 

This follows the decision by the UK government to issue a permanent, lifetime ban for all ME patients (including those who have “recovered”) from giving blood. The Alliance has also written directly to the European Health Commissioner urging him to enforce such a ban.

 

The UK ban follows similar action from Canada, Australia and New Zealand while in USA American Association of Blood Banks has advised its membership to actively discourage potential donors who have been diagnosed with ME/CFS from donating blood or blood components. In Europe the National Blood Transfusion Services of Malta have been deferring donors permanently if they have a history of ME/CFS and the Belgian Red Cross has for some time refused to accept ME/CFS patients as blood donors.

 

EMEA believe such a prohibition is not only wise but is a necessary and urgent action that needs to be taken until more research can be performed. Otherwise there is a great risk to the safety of blood supplies and to the health of citizens within Europe.

 

The reason for banning blood donations from patients diagnosed with ME/CFS is, in EMEA’s view, clearly a consequence of biomedical research which has shown that there is a possible infectious virus which may be transmissible via blood.

 

Since research published in Science magazine in October 2009 by the Whittemore-Peterson Institute, the National Cancer Institute and the Cleveland Clinic showed the possibility of a link between ME/CFS and a gammaretrovirus - xenotropic murine leukemia virus-related virus (XMRV) further research groups are now actively engaged in replication and validation studies.

 

EMEA have also suggested that European health ministers convene in London in May 2011, at the time of the 6th Invest in ME International ME/CFS Biomedical Research Conference, in order to meet with the leading experts and to hear of the latest biomedical research into ME/CFS and experiences in diagnosing and treating this disease.

 

ME/CFS is categorised by the World Health Organisation as a neurological disease and affects millions of Europeans.   

 

The European ME Alliance (EMEA) is a grouping of European organisations that are involved in supporting patients suffering from ME/CFS and campaigns for biomedical research to provide treatments and cures for ME. The Alliance currently consists of members from Belgium, UK, Germany, Ireland, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Denmark and hopes shortly to increase their representation across Europe.

 

The European ME Alliance believes that the seriousness of this situation and the risk to the public warrants an immediate prohibition of blood donation from ME/CFS patients in order to ensure that wider transmission and infection may be avoided.

 

 
European ME Alliance


www.europeanmealliance.org

 

Belgium

ME/CFS Association (Nieuwrode, Belgium)

Denmark Dansk ME Forening
Ireland    Irish ME Trust
Germany 

Fatigatio e.V.

Norway  Norges ME-forening
Spain Liga SFC
Sweden   Riksföreningen för ME-patienter
Switzerland   Verein CFS Schweiz
UK 

Invest in ME

 

 

 

See this press release in other languages

Danish
Coming shortly
English
Coming shortly
German
Norwegian

 

 

Further Links:

Documented involvement of Viruses in ME/CFS - click here


 

 

Last Update: 15 December 2010




image